Sunday, March 10, 2013

Creating Phase

Set Elements to Existing Phase

Activate 1st Floor Furniture Plan
Hide all grids, sections, callouts, elevation marks, tags
Cross-select all elements
Filter-out the walls
Properties palette:


Phase Created: Existing

Select a column, right-click - Select All Instances - Visible in View
Ctrl-select all the doors
Change the Phase Created properties to Existing
Select all furniture and plants
Change the Phase Created properties to Existing
Select and filter Railings, Stairs, Windows
Ctrl-select all other elements in view
Change the Phase Created properties to Existing



Whole drawing become grey-out


Demolish Elements

Modify tab > Geometry panel > Demolish


Select the wall


This will cause multiple room assigned to one room
Click OK to ignore the warrning


Select a door on the other wall to demolish
Click Modify to end the command

Add Elemetns on New Phase

Architecture tab > Build panel > Door
Type Selector - M_Single-Flush 0915 x 2032mm


Add a new door


Add additional dinning tables

Graphic Override on Phase

Manage tab > Phasing panel > Phases


Graphic Overrides tab
Change the Line color of Demolished to Red

Show Elements on Phase

Phase Filter: Show All
Phase: Existing


Single Flush Door and Double Glass Door still exist

Phase Filter: Show All
Phase: New Construction


The opening of demolished wall and doors shown in red with hidden lines
The new added dinning tables show in breakfast area

Pgase Filter: Show Complete
Phase: New Construction


Vertical wall of office: Door remove, wall close-up
Horizontal wall of office: New door added with the opening
Vertical wall over kitchen: Remove

Tuesday, March 5, 2013

Worksharing Overview

When a project become too big for one person, it needs to be subdivided to different members work on it
A project needs to be separated into logical components, without losing the connection to the whole



Worksharing is a design method that allows multiple team members to work on the same project model at the same time
Tha main components are workset



When worksets are established in a project, there is one central file and many local files as needed for each team member to have a file
The central file is created by BIM Manager and stored on a server, enabling multiple users to access
The local file is a copy of central file stored on your computer
Everytime individual local file saved back to central file, server will send out the updated central file to other local files
All changes remain in one file, all parts of the project, model, views and sheets are automatically updated

On many projects, team members are assigned a specific functional area to work on

Enable Worksharing

Colloborate tab > Worksets panel > Worksets



Move Levels and Grids to Workset: Shared Levels and Grids
Move remaining elements to Workset: Architectural


Select the workset to make it editable
Choose the active workset

Workset - Worksharing

Project can be subdivided into worksets

Only one user can be edit each workset at a given time

All team members can view worksets owned by other team members, but cannot make changes to them

This retriction prevents potential conflicts within the project

Elements Borrowing - Worksharing

  • Work in the local copy of the central model and not make workset editable

  • When edit an element that is not being edited by another team member, you automatically become the borrower of the element,and cam make change you need

  • Synchronize with central frequently as you work

  • Synchronizing relinquishes borrowed elements, allow other team members to edit them

Worksharing Workflow

  1. Enable Worksharing
  2. Customize Worksets and options
  3. Save a project as a central file
  4. Make local copies of the central file
  5. Synchronize changes in local files to the central file